The concept of rational voter ignorance has been around since the 50’s. The reality of rational voter ignorance seems obvious to me, but I have been searching for a good source of strong evidence for broad voter ignorance, a paper or survey that I can point people who doubt voter ignorance to. Several papers that I have run across mention that voter ignorance is well documented, but they do not cite anything, and I have been unable to find any survey paper that specifically focuses on the extent of voter ignorance. There are also several papers I have run across that note significant policy preference shifts when voters become more informed (like this and this), which this implies voter ignorance, but I would like a paper specifically focused on the extent of voter ignorance.

Does anyone know of such papers?