New Economist points to a cool primer on the workings and effects of the ETIC as well as possible reforms to the program. I like the ETIC because it is a cash transfer to the poor instead of a transfer in the form of services, so the poor can decide how to spend their own money, and because the phase out range for benefits are much higher up on the income scale and much wider. I don’t care very much about the work inducing effects of the ETIC. I might change my thoughts on the ETIC (especially my indifference to the work inducing effects) if it were shown that a lot of poverty is due to high time-preference, which some people have suggested, because a high time-preference could arguably be called “bad” or “stupid,” although my individualist, subjectivist tendencies make me want to withhold judgment on high-time preference.