I don’t understand why it’s so difficult to read books online. Two books on my reading list, Let Their People Come and Economics for Real People (an intro to Austrian economics), are freely available online (here, and here), but I will be buying hard copies,  because I know that, regardless of my interest, I won’t read the whole book online.

I read a lot of stuff online, but there seems to be a length limit. I can’t read more than about fifty pages of any one material online. Perhaps it is simply that my chair is uncomfortable, or perhaps having a physical book reminds me to continue reading. I don’t find either of these explanations convincing.

I also wonder how much of the failure of the “paperless office” is explained by this difficulty.

Does anyone have a good explanation?

