Jacqueline Passey has a very interesting post about her experience buying individual health care insurance, and comparing individual insurance against her employer’s health insurance. The result?

We decided against getting company health insurance because even with the tax savings (employer-provided health insurance is a tax-free benefit whereas individual health insurance plans must be bought with post-tax dollars) the premiums would still be too high compared to the premiums for individual health insurance plans.

I admit I haven’t looked into individual insurance since I’m still covered by my family (call it rational ignorance), but my father had pretty well convinced me that even catastrophic insurance was disproportionately expensive. When I buy my own insurance, I’ll be sure to research individual catastrophic insurance.

